Special Guests

Special Guests

All Special Guests are scheduled to appear all weekend unless otherwise noted.

Michael Allred

Allred is known for his wildly popular MADMAN series, which is currently being developed for a live action film with filmmaker Robert Rodriguez. His earlier work from GRAFIK MUZIK was turned into the cult hit movie G-Men from Hell.

His style is often compared to pop-art, as well as commercial and comic art of the 1950s and 1960s and can be seen in his other works which include runs on X-Force, X-Statix, Fantastic Four (FF), Silver Surfer, and Batman '66 just to name a few. Most recently Allred has gained even more success with the launch of the comic iZombie which has been turned into a hit television series.

Laura Allred

Laura Allred is the 2012 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards - Winner - Best Colorist for iZombie (DC Comics/Vertigo) and Madman All-New Giant-Size Super-Ginchy Special (Image). Allred often collaborates with her husband Michael Allred and is known for other works such as Silver Surfer, Fantastic FourX-Statix, Batman '66 and many others. Allred is considered to be one of the best colorists in the industry and is often the top choice by publishers to work on their properties.

Kelly Sue DeConnick

A writer whose work includes the Bitch Planet, Pretty Deadly,Captain Marvel, Ghost, Avengers Assemble, Avenging Spider-Man, Invincible Iron-Man, Osborn, Supergirl, Yo Gabba Gabba, and Castle.

Matt Fraction

Writer for The Mighty Thor, Journey Into Mystery, Invincible Iron Man, Hawkeye, Sex Criminals, Defenders, Avengers Vs. X-Men, Fear Itself and his creator owned book Casanova.

Larry Hama

Artist / Writer / Editor Larry Hama has worked on many iconic titles for several decades. He is known for his work on GI Joe, Wolverine, Conan the Barbarian, The 'Nam, and many others!

Hama earned an unexpected female following for G.I. Joe by writing strong female characters (Cover Girl, Lady Jaye, Scarlett) who fought equally along their male counterparts. The title was also praised for unusually positive representations of minorities in a children’s series for the time.

Ryan Ottley

Ryan Ottley is the ongoing artist of Robert Kirkman’s Invincible. With over 100 issues and counting, Invincible is published by Image Comics alongside Kirkman’s The Walking Dead. In addition to his work on Invincible, Ottley’s talent has appeared in The Amazing Spider Man, Batman/Superman, The Flash, Spawn, The Walking Dead, Witchblade and other popular titles.

Nate Quarry

Nate Quarry is a retired Mixed Martial Arts fighter based out of Portland. He is known for his appearance on The Ultimate Fighter, his UFC career, his hosting role on MMA Uncensored Live, and an appearance in Left 4 Dead 2. Quarry is the creator of the Zombie Cage Fighter comic book.

Jim Valentino

Valentino has worked in the industry as writer, artist, and publisher for several decades. He's known for his work at Marvel on the Guardians of the Galaxy and the What If....? series. Valentino, along with other creators, left Marve in the early 90's to form Image Comics where Valentino published his Shadowhawk series and created the Shadowline Imprint for Image. Valentino also served as Image's Publisher for several years and saw the release of wildly popular title The Walking Dead.

Recent Updates


  • Kelly Sue DeConnick
  • Matt Fraction


  • Nate Quarry


  • Jim Valentino


  • Larry Hama


  • Laura Allred


  • Michael Allred


  • Ryan Ottley